Another great turn out for the West Head Road race on Sunday March 1st. A few tweaks to the format including a slightly more humane starting time, the addition of a super master’s grade, and the reduction of the A grade race from 4 to 3 laps seemed to have worked judging by the strong turnout and more than one grade being sold out days before the race.

Thanks to Phil Taaffe at Aptium Financial Services for providing the lucky door prizes. Anyone can be a winner! Need insurance for income protection, life or TPD? Contact Phil to see what he’s got on offer. It’s free to check it out and if you do take out a policy, then Aptium put money back into MWCC so we can put on great races like this!

We saw lot’s of aggressive racing, with early long range breaks going away in both A-Elite and A-Masters and plenty of attacks in all the others.

With women’s racing getting stronger and stronger the ladies were given a few options, with either separate women’s grades or the choice to enter the open categories. The local ladies represented the club well with both Emma “Carol” Roberts and Bree Playel signing on for the 3 laps of B open (with Bree adding to her trophy cabinet winning Fastest Female of the day), and Tara Wallis, Irene Hunt and Kristina Rivers completing a club trifecta and dominating women’s C.

The new Super Masters category was a big hit, with the ex-pro Graham Cockerton, showing that he still has all his racing nous and was able to use his track sprinting skills to hold on to win in a tight finish.

See everyone back for more racing on our favourite racing venue on the 5th of April.

Check out the race and podium photos on our Facebook page

Our next race is 5th April

1. James Nicol (SUVelo)
2. Dan Bonello (MWCC)
3. Andrew O’Neil (MWCC)
A-Masters (40+):
1. Rolando Delaytz (Bicisport)
2. Clinton Leong (Peloton Sports)
3. Maarten Holsboer (Cheeky Velosports)
Super Masters (55+):
1. Graham Cockerton (Bicisport)
2. Dave O’Connell (NSCC)
3. Ross Bowles (Harlequin)
B open:
1. Andrew Hellmich (Central Coast CC)
2. Benjamin Treble (MWCC)
3. Will Kirkham (DHBC)
FF. Bree Playel (MWCC)
B Women’s:
1. Danya Davidson (Southern Cross CC)
2. Sarah Schneider (Peloton Sports)
3. Charly Rose Iron (NSCC)
C open:
1. Peter Hinds (NSCC)
2. Nikolas Delegat (MWCC)
3. Alex Henderson (MWCC)
C Women’s:
1. Tara Wallis (MWCC)
2. Irene Hunt (MWCC)
3. Kristina Rivers (MWCC)
D Grade:
1. Garth McInerney (Cammeray Roadies)
2. Jonathan Gormley (MWCC)
3. Jared Yan (MWCC)