The Fixed Wheel Cup, the Manly Warringah CC Friday night crit series is currently underway. Along with free kids training during the racing, this is a great way to start the weekend. The report from Friday night is in. After a great afternoon of racing in all grades the bar has been set, the gauntlet has been thrown down and the marked men have been identified. Racing is on again this Friday night!

**Note that this course is a closed circuit course in a private venue. Hence riders are not breaking the road rules by riding on both sides of the course during the race. Why is this disclaimer here? Some people view our headline photos of riders at HART or riding in Europe and then assume we are promoting riders breaking the NSW Road Rules. MWCC strongly encourage riders when out riding on NSW roads to obey all road rules.**

A Grade
With a handicapped start A Elite had their work cut out catching A club and then contending for the win. Both bunches worked well together making for an exciting chase and as a result the stinging attacks of some of the biggest hitters had been blunted somewhat by the time the groups came together. A few tried to get off the front of the combined bunch but it was a well timed attack by the Mobius boys the second last time up the berg that stole the show. Alex Naz ended up taking the sprint over teammate Peter Livingstone with Matt Dinhan winning the bunch kick for 3rd. The real highlight of the A Grade race was the performance of Matthew Dinham, who at only 15 years old and riding restricted gears (which means no big chain ring) he did some serious damage to the bunch with his attacks.

Alex Nazarwick 7
Peter Livingstone 6
Matthew Dinhan 5
Evan Snow 5
Peter Moore 5
Nathan Bonarius 4
Dan Bonello 3
Ian Cocks 2
Phil Gray 2
Tai Huynh 2
Michael Potter 2
Matt Rozyn 2
Paul Murgatroyd 2
Enrico Gaoni 2
Jeremy Hopson 2
Lewis Haydn 2
James Naylor 2
Matt Robertson 2
Dave Evans 2

unnamed (4)


B Grade
In what was a very strong B grade field it was always going to be hard to forge a break. A few tried, notable Ollie Whalley and Mitch Dixon, but the early moves had little impact and it wasn’t until the last few laps when a dangerous break of 4 put the bunch under real pressure. It wasn’t to be and when the bunch regrouped a stinging attack by James Bernard at the end of the straight on the last lap proved decisive. Despite some solo attempts to bridge across James held on for the win and with.

James Bernard 7
Chris Taylor 6
Mitch Dixon 5
Dave Watkinson 5
John Ward 5
Evan Snow 5
Brett Babici 2
Lynne Clarke 2
Michael Berriman 2
Peter Livanes 2
Simon Manson 2
Monica Dalidowicz 2
Ollie Whalley 2
Dan Umphrey 2
Gavin Peacock 2
Lewis Hunt 2

unnamed (3)

C Grade
As always, C grade was a war of attrition. The constant concertinaing throughout the race slowly reduced the field and when Ed Shilland instigated a break with 4 laps to go only three could go with him. In the end Ed did the hard work and left it to Andrew Thomson of MWCC to duke it out with Jack Renshaw and Richard Lack of NSCC. AJT held off Renshaw in a long drag to the line for the win in his first race.

Andrew Thomson 7
Jack Renshaw 6
Richard Lack 5
Jason Pithkealey 5
Marty Hector 5
Ed Shilland 4
Trevor Smith 3
Roger Shackleton 2
Robert Quinn 2
Phil Dunne 2
Paul Mower 2
Milan Uzelic 2
Kevin Hazeldine 2
John Sinclair 2
Joanna Somerville 2
Chris Oliver 2

unnamed (7)

Racing commences at 6:30pm at HART Driver Training Centre, Mona Vale Road, St Ives. There is plenty of parking on site or there are safe bike routes to and from the venue. The kids training is open to all and not just MWCC members, there is no cost and the kids run through their training drills while the racing is on.

Entry is $15 on the night with a Gold Racing Licence. Australian Standards Helmet required.