Thanks to Australian Cyclocross Magazine for this Round Two report of our Subaru Active Cyclocross Series was set up to be a great day as the conditions were a promoter’s delight. There was a decent amount of rain mid-week, but on Saturday morning the club’s volunteers were greeted with sunny skies when preparing the course. Soggy underfoot, not above. Perfect.

The course designer had set a tough, yet fun course which had less dismounting than round one, but featured more slippery off camber corners instead. There were sections that in dry conditions are usually fast but were instead hard to gain traction and go anywhere. For the first time in 2015 the BMX track featured and it was spectacular as riders were made to drop in over the edge of one of the large berms disappearing from view of riders behind.

There was a lot more excitement in the air due to having the voice of NSW cycling Paul Craft on hand to bring the noise and keep proceeding on track. So at 1.30pm on the dot the first of the two children’s races got underway. The kids get it. From 3 year olds on balance bikes to the bigger kids in under 12’s there were smiles for miles and even a sprint finish or two.


Next up was the largest field of the day featuring B Grade Men’s Cyclocross, Open (any bike) Men and Women’s Cyclocross/Open. The racing was fast from the start and it was Rob Parbery on his single speed weapon who claimed the holeshot, but by the second corner he was already sliding further down the field. Fabian Diaz and Olivier Vallee who hit the front of the race and never looked back. Calls of sandbagging were murmured… over the microphone. Fabian Diaz claimed the win with Olivier in second place. First place real B grader and third on the day went to Patrick Denis who had travelled from Canberra just for the race. Behind them were mixed facial expressions as some were having fun while others looked to be in a world of hurt… But that’s Cyclocross!


In the women’s race, Sally Potter lead from the start closely followed by Alice King of Over Yonder Racing. Sally stretched her lead as the race progressed, but with two laps to go had a front wheel puncture. Luckily she calmly made her way to the pits to change a wheel and still finish the race with a win. Alice King claimed second crossing the finish line with her tongue poking out after a race of heckles from the microphone due to her impressive stone cold race face. Canadian track superstar Lizanne Wilmot finished in third wearing what I can only describe as a stunning skinsuit.


The final race of the day was A grade mens Cyclocross and there were a couple of notable absentees in Chris Aitken (taking a well-earned rest) and Garry Millburn (racing in Canada). This left the field wide open for any number of people to win. From the start a front group consisting of young guns Bryan Dunkin, Michael Potter and John Law as well older racers Scott Wines and Stuart Adams. As the race progressed it was Michael Potter who took charge and distanced himself from the rest of the field. Potter never looked back and extended his lead more as the race went on to claim the win. Behind a battle for the minor positions took place over the rest of the race between Wines, Dunkin and Law. With two laps to go it was Bryan Dunkin who got away to claim second place, while behind it was John Law and Scott Wines in a ding-dong battle for third. The two riders turned the final corner with John Law leading out the sprint, but Scott Wines never gave in and with an impressive bike throw won third place by half a wheel.


A big thankyou must go to all the club volunteers who helped set up, marshall, man the rego tent and of course pack-up as they made the day what it was. Thanks also go to the sponsors Subaru, Manly Cycles and Dawson Sports.

The next race will be the NSW State Champs on the 18 July.


A Grade Men

1st Michael Potter

2nd Bryan Dunkin

3rd Scott Wines

Women CX/Open

1st Sally Potter

2nd Alice King

3rd Lizanne Wilmot

B Grade Men

1st Fabian Diaz

2nd Olivier Vallee

3rd Patrick Denis

Open Men

1st Mike Sumner

2nd Mike Lawson

3rd Mick Lynon


 If you want to keep up to date with all of the latest Cyclocross news then there is no better way than with an Australian Cyclocross Magazine subscription.