The Hell Of The North was raced in crisp conditions, with an early layer of fog covering the course before brightening to clear skies. There was plenty of hard racing with one of our traffic marshals remarking how many riders were getting dispatched from their races on every lap. This course isn’t easy and ego’s are easily smashed.

With stiff competition from the NRS Tour of Adelaide and the Blayney to Bathurst, numbers were down a little in some grades however that didn’t stop riders from attacking from the roll out. This was evident in A Club with MWCC Mitch Dixon going for the unawarded Most Aggressive Rider of the Day when he continually launched himself up the road throughout the 3 laps of his race.

WH April 3

While it may have cost her the top spot on the podium due to relegation Deborah Makin of Peloton Sports went for glory in D Grade with a solo attack a few kilometres from home, she got mixed up in a passing faster grade and due to some race inexperience caught a bit of a draft which is understandable given the location of the catch and pass, however it was ruled to have been an unfair advantage and she was relegated to third with fellow escapee of MWCC Toby Dind. The relegation doesn’t take awy from her great ride. However D Grade is about learning race craft and a lesson was learnt by two riders on the day.

WH April 12

As usual there were no crashes or incidents to report on. Next month MWCC is also hosting the NSW under /19 Championships on the road and time trial. As a result of this the race date will be MAY 17. There may be some changes to grading to accommodate this event. This will be announced closer to the event.

WH APril 13

If you are looking for another great race close to Sydney – Hunter District CC are hosting a Kermesse on May 2 at the Hunter Economic Zone, Kurri Kurri. A great course with race distances of over 100 kilometres for A Grade, 90 kilometres for B Grade and various distances all the way down to E Grade. The course is run on smooth roads and it is worth the trip up the highway. $ 15 entry.

Next Sunday – April 19 Northern Sydney Cycling Club have their famed Beaumont Road Criterium Race. $15 entry, grades A-D with racing from 8:10am. Beaumont Road, Mout Ku-Ring-Gai.

Check the websites of the various clubs for more details.

MWCC Cyclocross commences 23 May


 A Elite

  1. Andrew East – LACC
  2. Peter Livingstone – DHBC
  3. Daniel Brickell – Sutherland

A Club

  1. Ben  Wray SuVelo
  2. Ran virdi – NSCC
  3. Alan Bransdon – Sydney

B Combine

  1. Gavin Peacock – MWCC
  2. Haydn Lewis – Peloton
  3. Michael Ong – NSCC

C Prestige

  1. Ziad Jamal – LACC
  2. Dan Bright – MWCC
  3. Ian Blaiklock – MWCC


C Hubbard

1. Harry Charlesworth – Randwick

  1. Lachlan Yates – DHBC
  2. Anthony Barnard – MWCC

D Grade.

  1. Brian Smith
  2. Nandika Samarawickrama – NSCC
  3. Deborah Makin – Peloton Relegated
  4. Toby Dind – MWCC Relegated

D GRade